Policy Committees of the MMA

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

The MMA organizes and staffs policy committees that review and develop positions on local government activities that are the subject of state and federal government interest. Policy committees present new or revised policies to MMA members for a vote at the MMA’s Annual Business Meeting, held each year in January. Committees also make recommendations to the MMA Board of Directors on specific legislative proposals.
The following are descriptions of the MMA’s current policy committees and a listing of the members who are serving during 2017:

Fiscal Policy Committee

This committee considers all municipal finance issues. Any initiative that deals solely with a financial issue is directed first to this committee. Legislation that has a fiscal impact is referred to this committee from other committees as well. This committee also develops a policy framework for local government financing in the future.
Domenic Sarno, Springfield
Martin Walsh, Boston
Setti Warren, Newton, Chair
Jack Keniley, Cohasset
Charles Kennedy, Wrentham
Michael Lawson, Concord
James Kwiecinski, Easthampton
John Mullaney, Braintree
Richard LaFond, Abington
James Malloy, Westborough
Thomas Moses, Hudson
Finance Committee
Jennifer Gonzalez, Holbrook
Allan Tosti, Arlington
Thomas Ambrosino, City Manager, Chelsea
David Davison, Assistant Town Manager, Needham
Sandy Pooler, Deputy Town Manager, Arlington
Ari Sky, Chief Financial Officer, New Bedford
Adam Gaudette, Town Manager, Northbridge
Bernard Lynch, Lowell
Jacob Sanders, Intergovernmental Affairs, Worcester
Marilyn Spahr, Finance Director, Sandwich

Policy Committee on Energy and the Environment

This committee formulates policy for the association in the following areas: water quality, water supply, air quality, solid waste, hazardous waste, wetlands, coastal areas, wastewater treatment, renewable energy and energy conservation.
Kimberley Driscoll, Salem
Ken Gray, Amesbury
Mark Hawke, Gardner
Susan Bunnell, Wilbraham
Nancy Goulart, Dighton
Kevin McCarthy, Cohasset
Margaret Laforest, Quincy
Emily Norton, Newton
Charles Blanchard, Palmer
Robin Craver, Charlton, Chair
Mark Rees, Fairhaven
Finance Committee
Janet Hartke Bowser, Conservation Commission, Dover
Robert "Brutus" Cantoreggi, Public Works Director, Franklin
John Giorgio, attorney, KP Law
Guilford Mooring, Public Works Superintendent, Amherst
Alan Cathcart, Water and Sewer Division Superintendent, Concord, and Massachusetts Water Works Association
John Drobinski, Partner, Environmental Resources Management
Robert Goober, Marketing Director, Weston & Sampson
Bradford Swing, Director of Energy Policy, Boston

Policy Committee on Municipal and Regional Administration

This committee considers those issues that relate to the organization, structure, efficiency, and productivity of local and regional government and the relationships between the two levels of government. Among the issues addressed by this committee are the processes and structures at the local and regional levels for the procurement and provision of human services, safety and health inspections, and technical assistance.
Robert Dolan, Melrose, Chair
Donna Holaday, Newburyport
William Martin, Greenfield
Yolanda Greaves, Ashland
Tristan Israel, Tisbury
Gardner Trask, Danvers
Lisle Baker, Newton    
Lisa Blackmer, North Adams
Estele Borges, Taunton
Andrew Flanagan, Andover
Julie Jacobson, Auburn
Stephen Maio, Wakefield
Finance Committee
Edward McManus, Harwich
Maura O'Connor, Charlton
Richard Brown, Town Administrator, Somerset
Thatcher Kezer, Senior Vice President, Devens
Daniel Rivera, Mayor, Lawrence
Alex Vispoli, Selectman, Andover
Robert Dean, Director of Regional Services, Franklin Regional Council of Governments
Matthew Feher, attorney, Burns & Levinson
Geoffrey Kravitz, Economic Development Director, Amherst
Christopher Senior, Town Manager, Cohasset

Policy Committee on Personnel and Labor Relations

This committee has responsibility for formulating policy for the association in the following areas: collective bargaining, civil service, employee benefits, police and fire collective bargaining, and pension reform.
James Fiorentini, Haverhill
William Reichelt, West Springfield
Arthur Vigeant, Marlborough, Chair
Jess Aptowitz, Mansfield
Michael Butler, Dedham
Scott Lambiase, Whitman
Monica Medeiros, Melrose
Michael Owens, Braintree
James Boudreau, Lynnfield
Paul Cohen, Chelmsford
David Cressman, Dartmouth
Finance Committee
Mary Jane Mastrangelo, Bourne
Mary Beth Bernard, Assistant Town Manager, Foxborough
David Colton, Easton
Marc Waldman, Treasurer and Collector, Wellesley
Victor Garofalo, Finance Director, Bedford
Sheila Keady-Rawson, Personnel Director, Cambridge
Stephanie Lutz, Human Resources Director, Franklin
Ron San Angelo, Town Manager, Southbridge

Policy Committee on Public Works, Transportation and Public Utilities

This committee considers issues that relate to regional and metropolitan transportation, transportation planning, the relationship between local governments and the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, and the question of levels of local control in joint state-local public works programs.
Carlo DeMaria, Everett
Scott Galvin, Woburn
Joseph Sullivan, Braintree
Michelle Ciccolo, Lexington
James Lovejoy, Mount Washington, Chair
Jennifer Modica, Uxbridge
Jacob Auchincloss, Newton
Justin Hurst, Springfield
Charles Ryan, Braintree
Carl McKinney, Clarksburg
Richard Reed, Bedford
William Ross, Mansfield
Patrick Ellis, Selectman, Sandwich
John McVeigh, Selectman, Huntington
Jeremy Marsette, Public Works Director, Natick
Thomas Reynolds, Public Works Superintendent, Marshfield
Richard Benevento, Parking and Traffic Commission, Beverly
David Knowlton, City Engineer, Salem
Christopher Petrini, Town Counsel, Framingham
Bruce Thibodeau, Public Works Director, North Andover