Voters elect 35 mayors across state, including Framingham’s first

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Voters elected 35 mayors across the state today, including the first-ever mayor in Framingham, which is transitioning to a city form of government as of Jan. 1, and new leaders to fill open seats in Agawam, Easthampton, Methuen, Newton and North Adams.
In all, eight new faces join the state’s mayoral delegation, while 27 incumbent mayors were re-elected.
Mayors in 10 cities are in the middle of four-year terms and were not on the ballot this year, and the mayors of Cambridge and Lowell will be chosen from their respective city councils in January.
Another 10 communities with a city form of government do not have mayors.
The following mayors were elected today (* denotes incumbent):
Agawam: William Sapelli
Amesbury: Ken Gray*
Attleboro: Paul Heroux
Beverly: Michael Cahill*
Boston: Martin Walsh*
Brockton: Bill Carpenter*
Chicopee: Richard Kos*
Easthampton: Nicole LaChapelle
Everett: Carlo DeMaria Jr.*
Fall River: Jasiel Correia II*
Fitchburg: Stephen DiNatale*
Framingham: Yvonne Spicer
Gardner: Mark Hawke*
Gloucester: Sefatia Romeo Theken*
Haverhill: James Fiorentini*
Holyoke: Alex Morse*
Lawrence: Dan Rivera*
Leominster: Dean Mazzarella*
Lynn: Thomas McGee
Marlborough: Arthur Vigeant*
Medford: Stephanie Burke*
Methuen: James Jajuga
New Bedford: Jon Mitchell*
Newburyport: Donna Holaday*
Newton: Ruthanne Fuller
North Adams: Tom Bernard
Northampton: David Narkewicz*
Peabody: Ted Bettencourt*
Salem: Kim Driscoll*
Somerville: Joseph Curtatone*
Taunton: Thomas Hoye Jr.*
Westfield: Brian Sullivan*
West Springfield: William Reichelt*
Woburn: Scott Galvin*
Worcester: Joseph Petty*
Eighteen incumbent mayors faced challengers, while 11 were unopposed. Incumbents did not run for re-election in Agawam, Easthampton, Methuen, Newton and North Adams.
The following mayors are midway through four-year terms:
Braintree: Joseph Sullivan
Greenfield: William Martin
Malden: Gary Christenson
Melrose: Robert Dolan
Pittsfield: Linda Tyer
Quincy: Thomas Koch
Revere: Brian Arrigo
Springfield: Domenic Sarno
Waltham: Jeannette McCarthy
Weymouth: Robert Hedlund
In addition to these 10 cities, voters elected councillors, but not mayors, in Barnstable, Chelsea, Franklin, Randolph, Watertown and Winthrop today.
In all, voters in 53 cities across the state headed to the polls today to elect candidates for municipal offices.
A municipal election was also held in the town of Saugus, which follows a city election schedule, where voters elected selectmen, town meeting members and other town officials.
Special legislative elections were also held today in the 1st Berkshire and 3rd Essex House districts, and a preliminary election was held for the Worcester and Middlesex Senate district.