DATES OF INCORPORATION and/or ESTABLISHING CITY FORM OF GOVERNMENT

CITY	Incorporation		f Adoption –		
			Sovernment Form Plan Adoption (if applicable)		
1. Agawam +	1855	1971 Council-Manager (HRC ) Mayor-Council (effective 1989)			
2. Amesbury	1668	1996			
3. Attleboro	1694	1914	14 Mayor-Council (HRC/1970)		
4. Beverly	1668	1894	Mayor-Council (HRC/1995)		
5. Boston *	1630	1822	2 Mayor-Council (SPC – last revised 1986)		
6. Braintree	1640	2006	Mayor – Council (SPC) (effective 1/1/08)		
7. Brockton	1821	1881	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1967) (formerly Plan D)		
8. Chicopee	1848	1890	Mayor-Council		
9. Easthampton	1809	1996	Mayor - Council (HRC - effective 9/96)		
10. Everett	1870	1892	Mayor-Aldermen-Council **		
11. Fall River	1803	1854	Mayor-Council PLAN A (1934)		
12. Fitchburg	1764	1872	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1916)		
13. Gardner	1785	1921	Mayor-Council		
14. Gloucester	1639	1873	Mayor-Council (HRC/1975) (Plan E, 1951 - 1976)		
15. Greenfield	1753	2002	Mayor - Council (HRC/2002) effective July 2003		
16. Haverhill	1641	1869	Mayor-Council PLAN A (1967) ( <i>Plan D, 1959 - 1967</i> )		
17. Holyoke	1850	1873	Mayor-Council (SPC )		
18. Lawrence	1847	1853	Mayor-Council (SPC/1983)		
19. Leominster	1740	1915	Mayor-Council (HRC/1983)		
20. Lynn	1635	1850	Mayor-Council (HRC/1979)		
21. Malden	1649	1881	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
22. Marlborough	1660	1890	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1922)		
23. Medford	1630	1892	Mayor-Council (SPC/1986) (Plan E, 1947 - 1987)		
24. Melrose	1850	1899	Mayor-Council (SPC - 2005) (replaced 1899 charter)		
25. Methuen+	1725	1972	Council- Manager (HRC) Mayor-Council (effective 1993)		
26. New Bedford	1787	1847	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1938)		
27. Newburyport	1764	1851	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1919)		
28. Newton	1691	1873	Mayor-Council (HRC/1971)		
29. North Adams	1878	1895	Mayor-Council PLAN A		
30. Northampton	1656	1883	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
31. Peabody	1855	1916	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
32 Pittsfield	1761	1889	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
33 Quincy	1792	1888	Mayor-Council PLAN A (1958)		
34. Revere	1846	1914	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1964) ( <i>Plan E, 1947 - 1965</i> )		
35. Salem	1630	1836	Mayor-Council PLAN B (1915)		
36. Somerville	1842	1871	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
37. Springfield	1641	1852	Mayor-Council PLAN A (1962)		
38. Taunton	1639	1864	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
39. Waltham	1738	1884	Mayor-Council (SPC/1986) (formerly Plan B)		
40. W. Springfield	1774	2000	Mayor - Council (HRC)		
41. Westfield	1669	1920	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
42. Weymouth	1635	1999	Mayor-Council (HRC)		
43. Woburn	1642	1888	Mayor-Council (SPC)		
+ had council manager government by home rule charter: changed manager to mayor via special act process					

<sup>+ -</sup> had council-manager government by home rule charter; changed manager to mayor via special act process.

HRC - Home Rule Charter

SPC - Special Act Charter

<sup>\* -</sup> Boston today includes the following municipalities annexed to the city in the late 1880s to 1911 - Charlestown (1630; city - 1847), Dorchester (1630), Brighton (1807), Roxbury (1630; city -1846), West Roxbury (1851), and Hyde Park (1868).

<sup>\*\* -</sup> only city government in United States w/ Board of Aldermen (7) and Common Council (18)

A, B, E - Plans of organization authorized by M.G.L., c. 43

## COUNCIL- MANAGER GOVERNMENTS (a "city" form -- see MGL, c. 43)

CITY	Incorporation	Date of Adoption	How
		City Government	Established/current govt
1. Barnstable*	1639	1989	HRC
2. Cambridge	1631	1846	Council - Manager PLAN E (1940)
3. Chelsea	1739	1857	SPA - 1994
4. Franklin*	1778	1978	HRC 1978, (revised 1995) Note1
5. Lowell	1826	1836	PLAN E (1942) (no pr)
6. Palmer *	1775	2004	HRC 2004
7. Southbridge*	1816	1973	HRC 1973 (revised 2003) Note 1
8. Watertown*	1630	1981	HRC 1981 (amended 2001)
9. Winthrop*	1852	2005	HRC 2005
10. Worcester	1684	1848	HRC 1985 (PLAN E 1947 -1985)

Note 1: In revising their charters, both of these towns changed the legislative body from a combination of at-large and district members to a legislative body composed solely of at-large members. Both elect 9 councillors..

HRC - Home Rule Charter

SPC - Special Act Charter

A, B, E - Plans of organization authorized by M.G.L., c. 43

## MAYOR-COUNCIL GOVERNMENT: 4 year term of office for mayor:

## Summary:

By home rule charter adoption: 2 (Newton, Weymouth)

By special act charter adoption 5 (Boston, Braintree, Lawrence, Melrose, Waltham)

By MGL, c. 43 provisions 3 (Malden, Revere, Salem)

City How Established

Boston via special act adoption
Braintree via special act adoption
Lawrence via special act adoption

Malden via use of optional provision of c. 43/voter approval

Melrose via special act adoption
Newton via home rule charter adoption

Revere via use of optional provision of c. 43/voter approval Salem via use of optional provision of c. 43/voter approval

Waltham via special act adoption
Weymouth via home rule charter adoption

Note: Greenfield's home rule charter provides that the mayor and council serve three year terms; this community holds its elections in June.

<sup>\*</sup> municipalities prefer to be known as towns