Town of


36 Main St. Agawam, MA 01001

Phone: 413-786-0400


Chris Johnson

Municipal Election:

November 4, 2025
Nov., 1st Tuesday following 1st Monday (odd years)

City Council:

George Bitzas
Edward Borgatti
Thomas Hendrickson
Dino Mercadante
Robert Rossi
Anthony Russo
Rosemary Sandlin
Gerald Smith
Peter Smus
Anthony Suffriti
Maria Valego


Population Density1,222
Registered Voters21,543
Income Per Capita$34,173
EQV Per Capita$125,667
Owner-occupied Housing Unit Rate75.7%
Median Value of Owner-occupied Housing Units$248,800
Median Gross Rent$1,173
Total Households11,785
Average Household Size2.40

Municipal Finances

Residential Tax Rate$15.78
Commercial Tax Rate$30.19
Average Tax Bill$4,619
Total Expenditures$89,860,791
Total Tax Levy$70,087,132
State Aid$27,581,368
Local Receipts$5,673,862
CPA Year Enacted2001
CPA Surcharge1.0%
CPA ExemptionsLow income
Town Hall of Agawam

Town Hall

Wants you To KNOW

With a population of approximately 29,000, the town of Agawam is nestled along the Connecticut River in the Pioneer Valley. It has a long history based in agriculture and industry, and is home to Six Flags New England and Robinson State Park.


Form of GovernmentMayor – Council
Incorporation Date1855
Chief Municipal OfficialMayor
Legislative BodyCity Council
Size of Council11
Length of Mayoral Term (years)2


Area23.3 mi2
Public Roads153.1 mi
Regional Planning AgencyPioneer Valley Planning Commission


U.S. Senate (statewide)

Edward J. Markey
Elizabeth Warren

U.S. House

Richard Neal

Mass. Senate

John Velis

Mass. House

Nicholas Boldyga
Michael Finn

Income Per Capita

See All Stats + Map
MunicipalityParam NameOrder

MA Representative for: