Six hundred councillors and aldermen serve in 57 communities in Massachusetts. The Massachusetts Municipal Councillors’ Association (est. 1981) provides opportunities for these officials to network and share ideas, pursue educational opportunities, meet with state leaders and subject-matter experts, and participate in the advocacy work of the MMA.

City councils, town councils and boards of aldermen act as the legislative branch in a city form of government, as well as its policymaking body. The council or board is the appropriating authority (passes the annual budget and other financial matters) and passes local legislation, known as ordinances. The council or board also considers the city’s goals, major projects, infrastructure improvements, community growth, land use, finances, and strategic planning. (Note: Several Massachusetts communities with a city form of government still refer to themselves as a town, and thus have a town council.)

The Massachusetts Municipal Councillors’ Association is dedicated to promoting the role of city and town councillors and aldermen as the local legislative and policy-making body through the development of practices that support efficient municipal government.

MMCA Districts

District 1: Agawam, Amherst, Chicopee, Easthampton, East Longmeadow, Greenfield, Holyoke, North Adams, Northampton, Palmer, Pittsfield, Springfield, West Springfield, Westfield

District 2: Fitchburg, Framingham, Gardner, Leominster, Marlborough, Southbridge, Worcester

District 3: Amesbury, Beverly, Gloucester, Haverhill, Lawrence, Lowell, Lynn, Methuen, Newburyport, Peabody, Salem, Woburn

District 4: Attleboro, Barnstable, Braintree, Bridgewater, Brockton, Fall River, Franklin, New Bedford, Quincy, Randolph, Taunton, Weymouth

District 5: Boston, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Malden, Medford, Melrose, Newton, Revere, Somerville, Waltham, Watertown, Winthrop

How do I join?

If you are a city or town councillor or alderman in Massachusetts, you are already a member. Please join us at upcoming MMCA events.

Councillors' Association Officers

Monica Medeiros
Alderman, Melrose
MMCA President
Robert Logan
Councillor, Waltham
MMCA First Vice President
Isaac Mass
Councillor, Greenfield
MMCA Second Vice President
Cecilia Calabrese
Councillor, Agawam
MMCA District 1 Representative
Claire Freda
Councillor, Leominster
MMCA District 2 Representative
Anne Manning-Martin
Councillor, Peabody
MMCA District 3 Representative
Ryan Egan
Councillor, Randolph
MMCA District 4 Representative
Mike Zwirko
Alderman, Melrose
MMCA District 5 Representative

Contact us

Have a question about the Councillors’ Association, the role of councillors or aldermen, or city government? Contact Member Services Coordinator Devon Elizabeth Williams using this form.