ATFCThe Association of Town Finance Committees was founded in 1934 and joined the MMA as an affiliate group in 1979. The ATFC publishes The Massachusetts Finance Committee Handbook, organizes educational and professional meetings for finance committee members, and provides, through its affiliation with the MMA, an avenue for member towns and their committee members to influence state government policies that affect municipalities.

ATFC Membership
ATFC members account for most of the state’s 292 towns. The association’s goal is to have all eligible Massachusetts town finance committees as members. Membership entitles finance committees to the digital copy of the Massachusetts Finance Committee Handbook, a member rate to attend the ATFC Annual Meeting, and free trainings during the year.

ATFC Mission Statement
Town Meeting is a centuries-old practice but yet a modern forum for local government legislation in New England. A local Finance Committee, by tradition and statute, is a select group of citizens that advise each Town Meeting on the probity, practicality and value of any of the matters before the Meeting. The Association of Town Finance Committees is a statewide Massachusetts organization dedicated to enhancing the role of finance committees in local government through professional standards, education programs and inter-town networking.

ATFC History
The Association of Town Finance Committees was founded by Danforth Comins of Brookline, who served as its executive secretary from 1944 to 1959. Stuart DeBard of Hingham served in that role from 1960 to 1994. Since 1994, the MMA has provided administrative and professional support to the ATFC.

Finance Committee Handbook

The Massachusetts Finance Committee Handbook covers the basic roles and responsibilities of finance committee members as well as complex issues. It is designed to assist all members of finance committees and provides useful information to other local officials who are involved in municipal finance and budget matters. [Learn more]

How do I join?

If you are a Finance Committee member in Massachusetts, contact Senior Member Program Coordinator Denise Baker at the MMA by using the form below or calling 617-426-7272, ext. 105.

ATFC Governing Board

Melinda Tarsi-Goldfien
Finance Committee, Mansfield
ATFC President
Kevin Sullivan
Finance Committee, Hanson
ATFC First Vice President
Mary McBride
Finance Committee, Billerica
ATFC Second Vice President
Allan Tosti
Finance Committee, Arlington
ATFC Treasurer

Dana DeCosta, Harwich
Andrew Harmon, Stoneham
Jonathan Harris, Weston
Past Presidents: John Trickey, Pelham; Brian Boyle, Bolton; Ira Miller, Sharon

Contact us

Have a question about the ATFC, the role of Finance Committees, or town government? Contact Senior Member Program Coordinator Denise Baker using this form.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.