The MMA Board of Directors is installed during the association’s Annual Business Meeting, held each January. The 2019 Board was installed on January 19, 2019.

The voting directors are selected by the following MMA organizations:

  • Massachusetts Mayors’ Association (MMaA)
  • Massachusetts Municipal Management Association (MMMA)
  • Massachusetts Selectmen’s Association (MSA)
  • Massachusetts Municipal Councillors’ Association (MMCA)
  • Association of Town Finance Committees (ATFC)

Melrose Alderman and MMA Board member Monica Medeiros speaks at a Meeting of the MMA Board on Nov. 13, 2018.

The most immediate MMA past president still holding local office is an ex-officio member of the board. The MMA executive director is a non-voting, ex-officio member of the board.

The MMA Board of Directors holds eight regular meetings per year in Boston, followed by a regular meeting of the Local Government Advisory Commission with the governor. The board also holds an annual retreat meeting. For information on the board’s activities, contact the executive director’s office at the MMA.

* Denotes Executive Committee member

Appointed Directors

Ellen Allen*
Selectman, Norwell
MMA President/MSA First Vice President
Cecilia Calabrese*
Councillor, Agawam
MMA Vice President
Arthur Vigeant*
Mayor, Marlborough
MMaA President
Jon Mitchell*
Mayor, New Bedford
MMaA First Vice President
Martin Walsh
Mayor, Boston
MMaA Second Vice President
Monica Medeiros*
Alderman, Melrose
MMCA President
Isaac Mass*
Councillor, Greenfield
MMCA First Vice President
Robert Logan
Councillor, Waltham
MMCA Second Vice President
James Boudreau*
Town Administrator, Scituate
MMMA President
Julie Jacobson*
Town Manager, Auburn
MMMA First Vice President
George “Bud” Dunham
Town Manager, Sandwich
MMMA Second Vice President
Jim Lovejoy*
Selectman, Mount Washington
MSA President
Andrew Hogeland
Selectman, Williamstown
MSA Second Vice President
Ira Miller*
Finance Committee, Sharon
ATFC President
Brian Boyle*
Finance Committee, Bolton
ATFC Vice President
Mark Hawke*
Mayor, Gardner
MMA Immediate Past President
Geoffrey Beckwith
ext. 101
Executive Director & CEO, MMA; President & CEO, MIIA

Elected Directors

Steve Bartha
Town Manager, Danvers
MMMA District 4 Representative
Michael Bettencourt
Select Board Member, Winchester
MSA District 2 Representative
Stephanie Burke
Mayor, Medford
MMaA District 4 Representative
Kathleen Conlon
Selectman, Milton
MSA District 3 Representative
Eamon McCarthy Earls
Councillor, Franklin
MMCA District 4 Representative
Andrew Flanagan
Town Manager, Andover
MMMA District 2 Representative
Claire Freda
Councillor, Leominster
MMCA District 2 Representative
Syed Hashmi
Selectman, Westborough
MSA District 5 Representative
Donna Holaday
Mayor, Newburyport
MMaA District 3 Representative
Thomas Hoye
Mayor, Taunton
MMaA District 5 Representative
Thomas Hutcheson
Town Administrator, Conway
MMMA District 1 Representative
David Narkewicz
Mayor, Northampton
MMaA District 1 Representative
John O'Rourke
Selectman, Conway
MSA District 1 Representative
Jeovanny Rodriguez
Councillor, Lawrence
MMCA District 3 Representative
Alan Slavin
Selectman, Wareham
MSA District 4 Representative
Kevin Sweet
Town Administrator, Wrentham
MMMA District 5 Representative
Kristi Williams
Town Manager, Westborough
MMMA District 3 Representative
Mike Zwirko
Councillor, Melrose
MMCA District 5 Representative