There are 47 mayors serving Massachusetts cities. The Massachusetts Mayors’ Association (est. 1945) provides opportunities for mayors to network and share ideas, pursue educational opportunities, meet with state leaders and subject-matter experts, and participate in the advocacy work of the MMA.

List of current Massachusetts mayors

Mayors serve as the chief executive officer of their cities. Twenty-five are elected for two-year terms, while 22 are elected for four-year terms.

The Massachusetts Mayors’ Association is dedicated to advancing the role of mayors and city managers in administering the affairs of cities through the continued development of effective, efficient and economical city government.

How do I join?

If you are a mayor in Massachusetts, you are already a member. Please join us at upcoming Mayors’ Association events.

Mayors’ Association Officers

Linda Tyer
Mayor, Pittsfield
MMaA Interim President/District 1 Representative
Nicole LaChapelle
Mayor, Easthampton
MMaA First Vice President
Michelle Wu
Mayor, Boston
MMaA Second Vice President
Arthur Vigeant
Mayor, Marlborough
MMaA District 2 Representative
Ted Bettencourt
Mayor, Peabody
MMaA District 3 Representative
Scott Galvin
Mayor, Woburn
MMaA District 4 Representative
Ruthanne Fuller
Mayor, Newton
MMaA District 5 Representative

Contact us

Have a question about the Mayors’ Association, the role of mayors, or city government? Contact Communications and Membership Director Candace Pierce using this form.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.