City of


17 Springfield St. Chicopee, MA 01013

Phone: 413-594-1500


John Vieau

Municipal Election:

November 4, 2025
Nov., 1st Tuesday following 1st Monday (odd years)

City Council:

Abigail Arriaga
George Balakier
Shane Brooks
William Courchesne
Susan Goff
Frederick Krampits
Gary Labrie
Frank Laflamme
Mary Beth Pniak-Costello
Gerard Roy
Samuel Robert Shumsky
Timothy Joseph Wagner
Robert Zygarowski


Population Density2,417
Registered Voters38,964
Income Per Capita$23,956
EQV Per Capita$84,578
Owner-occupied Housing Unit Rate57.6%
Median Value of Owner-occupied Housing Units$198,000
Median Gross Rent$1,006
Total Households23,852
Average Household Size2.29

Municipal Finances

Residential Tax Rate$15.15
Commercial Tax Rate$32.83
Average Tax Bill$3,819
Total Expenditures$192,318,214
Total Tax Levy$96,122,925
State Aid$97,805,345
Local Receipts$43,266,711
City Hall of Chicopee

City Hall

Wants you To KNOW

No stranger to America’s dynamic economic cycles, Chicopee is known as “a place of profit where people made things.” Several well-known American companies located facilities within the city’s three original villages.


Form of GovernmentMayor – Council
Incorporation Date1848
Chief Municipal OfficialMayor
Legislative BodyCity Council
Size of Council13
Length of Mayoral Term (years)2


Area22.8 mi2
Public Roads262.6 mi
Regional Planning AgencyPioneer Valley Planning Commission


U.S. Senate (statewide)

Edward J. Markey
Elizabeth Warren

U.S. House

Richard Neal

Mass. Senate

Adam Gomez
Jacob Oliveira
John Velis

Mass. House

Shirley Arriaga
Patricia Duffy
Michael Finn

Income Per Capita

See All Stats + Map
MunicipalityParam NameOrder

MA Representative for: