Voters yesterday elected mayors in 33 cities across the state, including nine new mayors.

The following mayors were elected (* denotes incumbent):
Agawam: Chris Johnson
Amesbury: Kassandra Gove*
Attleboro: Cathleen DeSimone*
Beverly: Michael Cahill*
Braintree: Erin Joyce
Brockton: Robert Sullivan*
Chicopee: John Vieau*
Fall River: Paul Coogan*
Fitchburg: Samantha Squailia
Gardner: Michael Nicholson*
Gloucester: Greg Verga*
Greenfield: Virginia “Ginny” DeSorgher
Haverhill: Melinda Barrett
Leominster: Dean Mazzarella*
Malden: Gary Christenson*
Marlborough: Christian Dumais
Medford: Breanna Lungo-Koehn*
Melrose: Jen Grigoraitis
Methuen: Neil Perry*
New Bedford: Jon Mitchell*
North Adams: Jennifer Macksey*
Peabody: Edward Bettencourt*
Pittsfield: Peter Marchetti
Quincy: Thomas Koch*
Revere: Patrick Keefe Jr.*
Somerville: Katjana Ballantyne*
Springfield: Domenic Sarno*
Taunton: Shaunna O’Connell*
Waltham: Jeannette McCarthy*
Westfield: Michael McCabe*
Weymouth: Robert Hedlund*
Woburn: Michael Patrick Concannon
Worcester: Joseph Petty*

Because they are in the middle of four-year terms, mayors were not on the ballot in Boston (Michelle Wu), Easthampton (Nicole LaChapelle), Everett (Carlo DeMaria Jr.), Framingham (Charlie Sisitsky), Holyoke (Joshua Garcia), Lawrence (Brian De Peña), Lynn (Jared Nicholson), Newburyport (Sean Reardon), Newton (Ruthanne Fuller), Northampton (Gina-Louise Sciarra), Salem (Dominick Pangallo), and West Springfield (William Reichelt).

The mayors of Cambridge and Lowell will be chosen from their respective city councils in January.

The mayors elected on Nov. 7 will begin their terms in early January.

The following 11 communities with a city form of government have councils but do not have mayors: Amherst, Barnstable, Bridgewater, Chelsea, East Longmeadow, Franklin, North Attleborough, Palmer, Randolph, Southbridge, Watertown and Winthrop. Of this group, Bridgewater, East Longmeadow, North Attleborough, Palmer and Southbridge did not vote on Nov. 7, as they hold their elections each spring.

A regular municipal election was also held on Nov. 7 in the town of Saugus, which follows a city election schedule, where voters elected selectmen, town meeting members and other town officials.

Written by