Bernie Cooper

Twenty-five Massachusetts members of the International City/County Management Association received ICMA Service Awards at this year’s Annual Conference, held remotely Sept. 23 through 26.

Norwood Assistant General Manager Bernie Cooper was at the top of the list, with the 45-year award. He’s been with the town for nearly 50 years.

Ed Thorne, who retired this year after a career that began in West Virginia and culminated with him spending the last 22 years as the town administrator in Pembroke, received an ICMA Lifetime Membership.

In addition to Cooper, the following were recognized for years of service:
40 years
• Suzanne Kennedy, retired, Medway
• Ed Thorne, retired, Pembroke
35 years
• Alan Benson, town administrator, Boxford
• Michael Driscoll, city manager, Watertown
• Elaine Lazarus, deputy town manager, Hopkinton
• Phyllis Marshall, assistant town administrator, Belmont
• Bob Writenhour, town administrator, Oak Bluffs
30 years
• Michael Boynton, town administrator, Medway
• Christopher Clark
• Kate Fitzpatrick, town manager, Needham
• Rick LaFond, town administrator, Carver
• Lisa Peterson, deputy city manager, Cambridge
25 years
• Denise Dembroski, town administrator, Stow
• Peter Johnson Staub, assistant town manager, Falmouth
• Michael Ward, town administrator, Clinton
10 years
• Robin Craver
• Melissa Goff, deputy town administrator, Brookline
• Leon Goodwin, town manager, Dedham
• Peter Lombardi, town administrator, Brewster
• T.J. Plante, chief administrative and finance officer, Springfield
• Steven Sette, town manager, Uxbridge
• Jennifer Tabakin, former town manager, Great Barrington