The Baker-Polito administration on June 4 announced a total of $1 million in grants covering 48 communities and four school districts through the Community Compact Cabinet Efficiency and Regionalization Grant Program.

The administration launched the Efficiency and Regionalization Grant Program in fiscal 2017 to assist municipalities and school districts interested in providing services to their constituents in a more efficient and cost-effective way. The grants provide funds for one-time or transition costs for municipalities, regional planning agencies, and councils of government interested in such projects.

The administration has now awarded more than $5.5 million in Efficiency and Regionalization grants to support more than 300 municipalities and school districts across Massachusetts.

The following grants were awarded:
• $178,000 for shared public works equipment for Berlin and Clinton
• $160,000 for a regional Net Zero Plan for Chelsea, Revere and Winthrop
• $133,275 for shared police services for Leverett and Wendell
• $100,000 for regional information technology services for Danvers, Essex, Hamilton, Manchester-by-the-Sea, Middleton, Topsfield and Wenham
• $78,725 for regional climate resiliency efforts for the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District, which serves numerous municipalities (Acushnet, Attleboro, Berkley, Carver, Dartmouth, Dighton, Fairhaven, Fall River, Freetown, Lakeville, Mansfield, Marion, Mattapoisett, Middleborough, New Bedford, North Attleborough, Norton, Plainville, Raynham, Rehoboth, Rochester, Seekonk, Somerset, Swansea, Taunton, and Wareham)
• $75,000 for regional human resources services for Great Barrington, Monterey, New Marlborough, Sheffield and West Stockbridge
• $75,000 for regional planning services for Mendon, Millville and Uxbridge
• $100,000 to explore forming a regional school district for Boxford, Middleton and Topsfield
• $98,200 for regional full-day Pre-K for the Manchester-Essex Regional School District

Lt. Gov. Karyn Polito, chair of the Community Compact Cabinet, and Administration and Finance Secretary Michael Heffernan made the announcement during a virtual award ceremony attended by recipients, local and state officials, and community leaders.