Andover, Seekonk, Littleton and Tisbury took the top prizes in their respective categories in the MMA’s Annual Town Report Contest, the winners of which were recognized during the MMA Annual Meeting & Trade Show on Jan. 19.

The following 12 communities received awards:
Category 1 (population more than 30,000)
1st place: Andover
2nd place: Shrewsbury
3rd place: Lexington

Category 2 (population of 15,001-30,000)
1st place: Seekonk
2nd place: Auburn
3rd place: Westwood

Category 3 (population of 5,001-15,000)
1st place: Littleton
2nd place: Westminster
3rd place: Brewster

Category 4 (population 5,000 and under)
1st place: Tisbury
2nd place: Truro
3rd place: Brookfield

Judging criteria include layout and cover design, arrangement of material, presentation of statistics and data, summary of the year’s achievements, evidence of local planning for the future, and the report’s usefulness.

State law (Ch. 40, Sect. 49) requires towns to prepare and publish an annual town report before their annual town meeting. The reports typically include financial information, highlights of the previous calendar year, reports from major boards, committees and key officials (including the select board), election results, and town meeting information.

Serving as judges for the MMA contest this year were Easton Assistant Town Administrator Sean Dugan and Julie Jacobson, a longtime town manager who recently retired from Auburn.

Written by