Michelle Wu is the the first woman and Asian mayor of Boston. (Photo courtesy Michelle for Mayor)

Voters elected mayors in 34 cities across the state yesterday, with 11 new mayors including the first woman and Asian mayor of Boston.

The following mayors were elected (* denotes incumbent):
Agawam: William Sapelli*
Amesbury: Kassandra Gove*
Attleboro: Paul Heroux*
Beverly: Michael Cahill*
Boston: Michelle Wu
Brockton: Robert Sullivan*
Chicopee: John Vieau*
Easthampton: Nicole LaChapelle*
Everett: Carlo DeMaria Jr.*
Fall River: Paul Coogan*
Fitchburg: Stephen DiNatale*
Framingham: Charlie Sisitsky
Gardner: Michael Nicholson*
Gloucester: Greg Verga
Haverhill: James Fiorentini*
Holyoke: Joshua Garcia
Lawrence: Brian DePeña
Leominster: Dean Mazzarella*
Lynn: Jared Nicholson
Marlborough: Arthur Vigeant*
Medford: Breanna Lungo-Koehn*
Methuen: Neil Perry*
Newburyport: Sean Reardon
Newton: Ruthanne Fuller*
North Adams: Jennifer Macksey
Northampton: Gina-Louise Sciarra
Peabody: Ted Bettencourt*
Salem: Kim Driscoll*
Somerville: Katjana Ballantyne
Taunton: Shaunna O’Connell*
Westfield: Michael McCabe
West Springfield: William Reichelt*
Woburn: Scott Galvin*
Worcester: Joseph Petty*

Because they are in the middle of four-year terms, mayors were not on the ballot in Braintree (Charles Kokoros), Greenfield (Roxann Wedegartner), Malden (Gary Christenson), Melrose (Paul Brodeur), New Bedford (Jon Mitchell), Pittsfield (Linda Tyer), Quincy (Thomas Koch), Revere (Brian Arrigo), Springfield (Domenic Sarno), Waltham (Jeannette McCarthy), and Weymouth (Robert Hedlund).

The mayors of Cambridge and Lowell will be chosen from their respective city councils in January.

Twelve communities with a city form of government have councils but do not have mayors. They are: Amherst, Barnstable, Bridgewater, Chelsea, East Longmeadow, Franklin, North Attleborough, Palmer, Randolph, Southbridge, Watertown and Winthrop. Of this group, Bridgewater, East Longmeadow, North Attleborough, Palmer and Southbridge did not vote yesterday, as they hold their elections each spring.

A regular municipal election was also held in the town of Saugus, which follows a city election schedule, where voters elected selectmen, town meeting members and other town officials.

Written by