Voters elected 34 mayors across Massachusetts yesterday, including 11 first-time mayors.

In all, voters in 54 cities across the state headed to the polls yesterday to elect candidates for municipal offices. Mayors in 11 cities are in the middle of four-year terms and were not on the ballot this year, and the mayors of Cambridge and Lowell will be chosen from their respective city councils in January.

The following mayors were elected today (* denotes incumbent):
Agawam: William Sapelli*
Amesbury: Kassandra Gove
Attleboro: Paul Heroux*
Beverly: Michael Cahill*
Braintree: Charles Kokoros
Brockton: Robert Sullivan
Chicopee: John Vieau
Easthampton: Nicole LaChapelle*
Fall River: Paul Coogan
Fitchburg: Stephen DiNatale*
Gardner: Mark Hawke*
Gloucester: Sefatia Romeo Theken*
Greenfield: Roxann Wedegartner
Haverhill: James Fiorentini*
Leominster: Dean Mazzarella*
Malden: Gary Christenson*
Marlborough: Arthur Vigeant*
Medford: Breanna Lungo-Koehn
Melrose: Paul Brodeur
Methuen: Neil Perry
New Bedford: Jon Mitchell*
North Adams: Tom Bernard*
Peabody: Ted Bettencourt*
Pittsfield: Linda Tyer*
Quincy: Thomas Koch*
Revere: Brian Arrigo*
Somerville: Joseph Curtatone*
Springfield: Domenic Sarno*
Taunton: Shaunna O’Connell
Waltham: Jeannette McCarthy*
Westfield: Donald Humason
Weymouth: Robert Hedlund*
Woburn: Scott Galvin*
Worcester: Joseph Petty*

Because they are in the middle of four-year terms, mayors were not on the ballot in Boston (Martin Walsh), Everett (Carlo DeMaria Jr.), Framingham (Yvonne Spicer), Holyoke (Alex Morse), Lawrence (Daniel Rivera), Lynn (Thomas McGee), Newburyport (Donna Holaday), Newton (Ruthanne Fuller), Northampton (David Narkewicz), Salem (Kimberly Driscoll), and West Springfield (William Reichelt).

Eleven communities with a city form of government – Amherst, Barnstable, Bridgewater, Chelsea, East Longmeadow, Franklin, North Attleborough, Palmer, Randolph, Southbridge, Watertown and Winthrop – have councils but do not have mayors. Of this group, Bridgewater, East Longmeadow, North Attleborough, Palmer and Southbridge did not vote yesterday, as they hold their elections each spring.

A regular municipal election was also held in the town of Saugus, which follows a city election schedule, where voters elected selectmen, town meeting members and other town officials. Three other towns – Easton, Lakeville and Yarmouth – held special elections with a single ballot question.

Written by